First Student provides bus service for a cost of $25 per student. K-8 students arrive by 7:45 am and are dismissed at 2:20 pm. “Bus Buddies” (older students) are assigned to guide Kindergartners to buses.
Notice to Parents/Guardians
Parent(s) or legal guardian(s) who must provide transportation to and from school because free transportation is not available for their children may be eligible to receive money from the state to help offset some of the cost, for example, bus fares or mileage reimbursement for private automobiles at .445 cents per mile.
If you can answer yes to the following questions, you may be eligible to receive reimbursement for providing such transportation.
- Will the pupil be under the age of 21 at the close of the school year?
- Is the pupil a full-time student in grades kindergarten through 12?
- Does the pupil either live 1 1/2 miles or more from school or live less than 1 1/2 miles from school but must be transported due to a serious safety hazard approved by the Illinois Department of Transportation?
- Does the pupil attend a school within Illinois which meets Illinois compulsory attendance laws?
- Did the parent/guardian incur transportation expenses resulting from transporting the pupil to and from school?
- Did the pupil not have access to transportation to and from school provided entirely at public expense?
- Did the parent/guardian reside within Illinois during the time period expenses were incurred?